DEV Community

Cover image for Final Ruby on Rails project for Flatiron School
yarvinh
yarvinh

Posted on

Final Ruby on Rails project for Flatiron School

For my final Ruby on Rails project, I created an app for a small business that deals with building maintenance and small repairs in NYC.

Features

This app can track employees as they complete work orders:

  • You can create work orders for each employee and assign tasks and an address where they will do the repairs.
  • Employees can comment and reply in the work order. This is a nice feature in case you want to ask someone for an idea or you want to give a description to your boss of what was done.
  • This app will also track the hours the employee works each day. They will be able to punch-in and punch-out.

  • Employees and admins can login and logout.

  • Only admin can create an account for an employee. Once an account is created, the employee can login with a username and password or Facebook single-sign on.

Lessons learned

I built this app for my school project but I'm planning to use it in real life. I have to learn more about security and I know it is risky to expose personal information with it. Before, when I used to visit a website like a bank, Home Depot or Facebook, I didn't pay too much attention to the details. Now I know there is a lot of security involve behind these website. I want to get more experience in authenticating and validating to protect the database of my apps.

Conclusion

It is clear to me that security in a website is everything, because a website that expose the users information is a broken website. I have to learn a lot about how to protect the users information and ruby on rails has a lot of tools for this.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
leastbad profile image
leastbad

Congrats on finishing your final project, and by the sounds of it, finishing your Flatiron program!

I suggest that you link to your repo in the article, if possible. Nothing to be shy about! Maybe even throw an instance of it up on Heroku for folks (and potential employers) to try out.

Welcome to the Ruby community! We're here for you.