DEV Community

Cover image for Upcoming Full-Stack project
yarvinh
yarvinh

Posted on

Upcoming Full-Stack project

In the upcoming weeks I plan to refactor my third Ruby On Rails project which I created as part of the Flatiron School curriculum. I will create a frontend view using JavaScript and fix a few small issues.

App

  • My future app will have users. Users will be created by an admin. For example, if a company has a new employee, the admin will create a user for the employee.

  • The app will have work orders. The admin will create a location which is the address where the employee will complete the work order.

  • The app will have work orders. Work orders are tasks the employee has to do on a specific date. Once the employee finish all the tasks then the employee can close the work order. Otherwise, the work order will be pending. This work order will be saved in the database.

  • Employees will be able to punch in and punch out. All the hours completed from Monday to Friday will be stored in the database and automatically give you a total of hours an employee worked. The employee account will not need personal information, no address or ss number. I don't want to compromise user's info because I don't have enough experience authenticating.

  • In the frontend this website will show picture of apartments that were renovated. The pictures will be in an embedded Instagram feed.

  • The App also will have the business info and will tell if they need employees.

Tech

This project will be my first real challenge. I will give it my best.I plan to use SQL database, activeRecord and Ruby on Rails. I will make a flow chart to map how the data will flow and how it will be stored. I will use nested roots, for example, if the work order belongs to 'employee/1' then the root of the work order will be 'employees/1/workoders/1'. I will use gem 'core' to allow me fetch the info from javascript. I will use gem 'bcrypt' to protect the passwords. In the frontend i will use React. I will use React Router for all the roots. Redux to manipulate the data in the frontend and thunk and axios to fetch the data from the backend.

Conclusion

A small project like this one will give me more practice for future projects. The good thing about it, there are a lot of people who want to help me and they want me to succeed. I don't feel alone, and it keeps me motivated. In this business, it all depends on me if I succeed or not and one thing I know for sure is that I will not give up.

Top comments (0)