DEV Community

Cover image for Javascript and Ruby on Rails Project
yarvinh
yarvinh

Posted on

Javascript and Ruby on Rails Project

For my 4th project I had to build an app using Ruby On Rails for the backend and Javascript for the frontend. I wanted to create an app that would solve a real life problem. When I am working, I often have to go buy materials from Home Depot or other hardware stores and sometimes I misplace the receipts. I decided to build an app that let me track the materials I buy for any job.

Features

This app let me create a location. Once a location is created the app lets me create a receipt for this location. Once the receipt is created then I can add items with a price to the receipt. The app will calculate the total of all items in the receipt: Locations have receipts => receipts have items.

This app uses vanilla Javascript and Webpack. I used fetch to enable edit and delete functionality in the database. For the database, I used SQL using Activerecord and Ruby on Rails.

Lessons learned

Javascript is a powerful programing language with many libraries and frameworks that I'm interested in learning. To mention some of them React, Redux, Angular and Vue. I learned a lot working on this project. Building an app with Javascript and Ruby is easier than I thought thanks to all the geniuses who contributed to those libraries that make the job easy. I learned how to make HTTP requests using the Fetch API. I remember years ago I took a Javascript class, and I had to use XMLHttpRequest to make requests. It was complicated and more manual so using fetch is a lot easier. I also got a better understanding of using classes and I improved a lot.

Conclusion

I liked working with JavaScript and I want to learn more about it. I can go to homedepot.com, click on an item and view more information about that item. To someone that doesn't know programming, it may seem like magic but now I understand that it is JavaScript doing work. Even though I enjoy working on the backend, I want to continue learning about JavaScript and all that it can do.

Top comments (0)