DEV Community

Yechiel Kalmenson
Yechiel Kalmenson

Posted on

What are your favorite Kotlin resources?

Hey all!

I recently joined a new team and we do most of our work with Kotlin.

It looks like a great language to work with, and I'm looking for resources to help me ramp up.
Something for someone familiar with programming concepts, and looking to ramp up on the Kotlin specifics, conventions, and best practices.

I'm a hands-on learner, and I learn best by trying thongs out and breaking them, so those are the resources I'm mostly looking for.

Something like Go's A Tour Of Go.

Any ideas?

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
nitya profile image
Nitya Narasimhan, Ph.D

Kotlin Koans are the best!

I've also been working through Atomic Kotlin (atomickotlin.com/exercises/) - Bruce Eckel collaborated with Svetlana (JetBrains/Kotlin developer advocate) on this and it is very recent.

Also a fan of Kotlin Cookbook which is very concise (but requires some prior knowledge)
oreilly.com/library/view/kotlin-co...

In case useful - I created a kotlinfyi tag to start documenting my Kotlin exploration and hope to be doing this regularly in Nov.
dev.to/t/kotlinfyi

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

Awesome, thanks for doing that!

Followed!

Collapse
 
nitya profile image
Nitya Narasimhan, Ph.D

If you do any exploration or write up anything please do feel free to use the tag and I would love to amplify.

I love kotlin now and am excited to start diving into all things 1.4. Hoping to review all talks from their recent event here. Covers a lot of what is to come next as well.
kotlinlang.org/lp/event-14/

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden
Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

Wow! Those look great!

Thanks for putting that together!

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

I have learned Kotlin (mostly as a part of Android Development) and the two best books I have found are:

Android Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) 4th Edition ( amzn.to/31MeaLM ) All code is in Kotlin

Kotlin Programming, The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (amzn.to/35ArYKz)

Collapse
 
isaacdlyman profile image
Isaac Lyman

This may not be what you're looking for, but the best resource for me was Android Studio's "convert file to Kotlin" button in the context menu. I could write a file in Java and it would convert instantly and almost flawlessly to Kotlin, and then I could read the file and learn a ton about Kotlin idioms and syntax. Also, when I copied some Java code from Stack Overflow into a Kotlin file, it would convert it to Kotlin automatically. Since Java has far more documentation and code samples online, these were pretty essential to my Kotlin project.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

I think I have written about this topic, let me see ....

... and this to discover Kotlin libraries

GitHub logo LouisCAD / kotlin-libraries-playground

A playground to gain a wider and deeper knowledge of the libraries in the Kotlin ecosystem. Also the official sample for gradle refreshVersions.

Kotlin Libraries Playground

A playground to gain a wider and deeper knowledge of the libraries in the Kotlin ecosystem

Also the official sample for gradle refreshVersions

❤️ Contributors welcome! #hacktoberfest

We want to collect sample usage of Kotlin libraries, and the more the better!

You are very welcome to contribute your own library sample.

==> CONTRIBUTING.md

🤔How do you keep up with all the new stuff?

There are great resources to learn Kotlin.

But once you master the language, you are not done just yet.

You now face another challenging task: become familiar with its ecosystem of libraries.

With time, you want to both acquire:

  • a wider knowledge of what good libraries are available in the ecosystem in general
  • a deeper knowledge of some specific libraries particulary important for you

There are several inefficient ways to do that:

  • reading tutorial after tutorial and being stuck in a loop…

:P

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

Nice! Thanks!

Collapse
 
j1c1m1b1 profile image
Julio Mendoza

It seems you already have awesome material, I also like to follow Kotlin Vocabulary from Android Developers Channel. You can always sign up for the Kotlin Weekly mailing list, follow Kotlin on twitter, they drop some useful tips from time to time and participate with the community joining Kotlin Slack

Collapse
 
olore profile image
Brian Olore

My google searches usually lead me here - baeldung.com/category/kotlin/

This might be more along the lines of what you are looking for - play.kotlinlang.org/koans/overview

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

That looks awesome! Thanks!

Collapse
 
vinigmoraes profile image
Vinícius Moraes • Edited

I think this link can help u: github.com/KotlinBy/awesome-kotlin

It's helped me a lot, when I started to learn Kotlin.