DEV Community

Bret
Bret

Posted on

What am I doing wrong? (I’m trying to make a Django project)

I have a folder DjangoTest

I first run:

python3 -m pip install —user virtualenv

Then

Python3 -m venv env

Then activate:
source env/bin/activate

INSTALLING DJANGO:
python -m pip install Django

But it’s not running.... how do I start it???

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
alchermd profile image
John Alcher

This should work assuming you have python3

python3 -m venv venv
source ./venv/bin/activate
pip install django
django-admin startproject djangotest .
python manage.py runserver
Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

THAT WORKED!!!! So, how do I re start the server after I’m done?

Collapse
 
alchermd profile image
John Alcher

You have to issue an interrupt signal by pressing CTRL+C to stop the server. If you just want to change some code and see the changes, the Django development server should pick those up and restart itself automatically.

Collapse
 
tlylt profile image
Liu Yongliang

What’s the error that you see in the command line? I would suggest that you copy & paste that error message into Google and usually you will be able to find a solution to the problem that you are having.

Collapse
 
monsij profile image
Monsij Biswal

Are you missing out python manage.py runserver.
Not sure, cmd logs would help surely!