DEV Community

Cover image for Lab4 using git remotes and merges on some code changes
Jason
Jason

Posted on

Lab4 using git remotes and merges on some code changes

This week I practice using git remotes and merges to collaborate with our peers on some code changes which support --config function with config File.

How to change code

I used the "argparse" lib to parser the features including --input, --lang and so on. So the same logic, I think it is easy to add the new config feature to my partner's code. However, my partner use the "click" lib which I never used. I search some articles to learn this lib and this one is every helpful for me. Although I feel the code should be written correctly, the system can't find the --input parameter. I post a draft PR and communicate with my partner through Slack. I am very grateful to his help. He soon found the problem which I am afraid I can't find the problem all day. The issue is that the --input should be optional. d2c3c0e51986457b2ed6764ecbb81dc

Learn to use git remote

I watched the "Understanding Git Remotes" video three times, and I think I have already understand the concept. The first time I watched the video, I still didn't understand the different for branch and remote. After I watched the video repeatedly and finished Lab4, I should understand the "remote". I summarize as below:

  1. when user clone a new repo, system will create the origin remote automatically.
  2. How to add your partner's working on repo as a remote to my local repo: $ git remote add upstream(can use use any name)
  3. How to track branch in my local repo: $ git checkout -b issue-12 oliver-pham/issue-12

Reflection

This week I learned how to remote and sharing commits, branches. How to use tracking branches. I also learned some knowledge about Pythone. The experience I have learned is to communicate more with teachers and classmates, so that I can learn useful knowledge as soon as possible.

Top comments (0)