DEV Community

Yuan-Hsi Lee
Yuan-Hsi Lee

Posted on

Hacktoberfest - Week 1

This October, we're expected to finish 4 pull requests to join the Hacktoberfest. However, consider doing pull requests might be new to some of the classmates and to avoid the competition, we can choose those repos without the Hacktoberfest topic.

I always want to develop a chrome extension to increase some optional functionalities on Twitter. Therefore, I want to gain some experience in building browser extensions.

I spent 2 days doing research and looking for suitable repos to contribute. I don't want to choose a huge repo with a complicated issue which is way out of my league; but, I don't want to just pick up a small typo issue and make the pull requests. I ended up finding 2 repos that I believe is a little bit challenging but not way too difficult for me.

The first one, which is the one I sent the pull request this week, is a Countdown Timer Chrome Extension. They have set time, start, and stop functionalities so far and they need the pause functionality. I spent some time on how to work on the chrome extension since they haven't had the instructions on how to contribute. I then used 2 days to complete this feature. Moreover, while I was testing the functionalities, I found that part of the UI design is not that accessibility-friendly (yellow background color with white font color). Therefore, I created the issue regarding this, made the changes, and send the PR with the modification.

This first pull request on Hacktoberfest is intriguing. The feeling of communicating with a total stranger developer and work on her repo is cool. I'm looking forward to working on the other 3 repos with their issues!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
anja profile image
Anja

Nice good luck with the other pull requests!😊

Collapse
 
yuanleemidori profile image
Yuan-Hsi Lee

Thank you!! <3