DEV Community

Cover image for How To Find A Job With Soft Skills When Coding Skills Are Weak I

How To Find A Job With Soft Skills When Coding Skills Are Weak I

On Tuesday December 20th, 2022, I held a talk about How to get a job as a developer with soft skills when tech skills are weak.

It was for the last episode this year on The Monthly Dev event hosted by daily.dev.

I want to share all the information in written form as well, divided in 6 parts, some longer some shorter than other.

  1. Introduction
  2. Different kind of skills
  3. Be smart using GitHub
  4. Skill combination 1: Project Management combined with Time Management Skills, Problem-Solving Skills and Critical Thinking
  5. Skill combination 2: Git Version Control combined with Communication Skills, Interpersonal Skills, Writing Skills
  6. Other skills and Conclusion

Introduction

As a soon-to-be junior developer, we tend to focus solely on our programming skills because we believe that's what recruiters are looking for - strong programming skills.

Even though good programming skills are indeed an advantage when applying for a job, you can also score points with good soft skills and you should not ignore them.

Because what I've heard over and over again when looking for a job was that technical skills can be learned much easier, soft skills tend not to be.

I find this topic particularly important because soft skills in combination with a mix of some tech skills were the reason I got a job in the first place.

Based on my previous experiences, like, how I was in school or at university, I soon realized that I would never make it into the tech if I focus solely on programming skills. At least not within a year, a year and a half.

So instead of focusing only on programming skills that I knew I couldn't acquire in this short time, I focused more on soft skills mixed with some tech skills to show what value I could bring to the company. And that has paid off.


Stay tuned for the next part.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
josefine profile image
Josefine Schfr

Really love this perspective, focussing on the positive and what we already bring to the table rather than what we might be lacking. I'm pretty sure I got my first job as a frontend engineer because of "soft" - aka human - skills and work experience from other fields.