DEV Community

Cover image for What was your first post?
Yuri Alves
Yuri Alves

Posted on

What was your first post?

Hey, I made a little simple web app, that gets your first ever post on Dev.to.
I will still be working on the web app to add more feature and hopefully allow other sites.
https://firstdev.netlify.app/
What do you think?
What would you like added?

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Rails 5 was going to be released shortly. I figured if I emailed up DHH and asked him some good questions he might share the article once it was published. How else is anybody going to come visit DEV before there's content? 😅

Collapse
 
yuriguernsey profile image
Yuri Alves

It’s crazy to think the journey that DEV has come.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I concur. Plenty more journey to go though.

Thread Thread
 
yuriguernsey profile image
Yuri Alves

I look forward to it and being part of it as a user

Collapse
 
dcwither profile image
Devin Witherspoon

Hey, thanks for sharing! I think a great next step would be to make the site more accessible. Some things you could do:

  • Make the search a form, and button type submit which should enable hitting enter to submit
  • Make the title a heading component
  • Give the link a more "interactive" appearance, to replace the "Click me to view the post"

Additionally, it looks like there's no way to return to the search, so adding that would be a great next step.

Collapse
 
yuriguernsey profile image
Yuri Alves

Thank you for the feedback. I will be sure to add those.

Collapse
 
lukeocodes profile image
@lukeocodes 🕹👨‍💻

Just a suggestion: remove the duplicate post from the 24th November ✌🏻

Collapse
 
yuriguernsey profile image
Yuri Alves

Thank you for that. It has been removed

Collapse
 
lukeocodes profile image
@lukeocodes 🕹👨‍💻

❤️

Collapse
 
lukeocodes profile image
@lukeocodes 🕹👨‍💻 • Edited

I'm too embarassed to share my first post, it was kinda rubbish 🤣🤪

I'll share my favourite, instead lol

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

Not a criticism, just a comment: my first post on dev was cross posted from my blog and that’s where the result takes me. Is that intended behaviour?

I get exactly why it would work that way, but thought I’d ask the question! 🙂

Collapse
 
yuriguernsey profile image
Yuri Alves

Well ideally it should take you to your dev post. However, if your post is linked to another site then yes

Collapse
 
rahxuls profile image
Rahul

Amazing thing. Is the repo public so we can pull request.

Collapse
 
yuriguernsey profile image
Yuri Alves

Thank you. Not yet but I will be making it public soon.

Collapse
 
rahxuls profile image
Rahul

Ok Amazing.