DEV Community

Cover image for I built a Saas to make emails sending easy for front-end developers
Yusuf
Yusuf

Posted on • Updated on

I built a Saas to make emails sending easy for front-end developers

Hi everyone !

TLDR; I coded an application for a simple email sending, and I'm checking if I'm not coding something nobody wants.

I'm Yusuf and I'm freelancing from France since 2016 ✌️.
I'm working mainly on web & mobile apps.
And I worked for clients and for different personals projects for many years.

I often have to make websites / landing pages for my projects or for clients, and naturally, theses needs a contact form that send an email with a message from the website visitor, right ?

First solution: Use emailling services

We all know the main challengers out there: Sendinblue, Mailchimp, Mailjet etc
Theses are built for marketers actually, with campaigns management, bulk sending, etc...

  1. Creating a profile for each project / client: Time consuming
  2. Email configuration, settings: More time consuming
  3. Creating templates, setting up variables: So much time consuming
  4. I just want to send an email with a message field: Too much options

Second solution: Code my own backend server

There is the steps:

  1. Develop the backend app with the language/framework of your choice.
  2. Install many packages.
  3. Code, code, code
  4. Deploy
  5. Heroku has no more free plan
  6. Search for an alternative
  7. 3 days later: still runs on localhost

Third solution (mine hehehe pls read)

I developed a minimalist app to relieve the pain from all of us, front end developers.

Pros

  • Only the basic features that matters.
  • Create many emails & test in less than 30 seconds.
  • Google or SMTP
  • Pre-rendered email HTML template
  • Manage access tokens
  • Free for personal use

The Cons

  • No bulk send options
  • No campaigns
  • Not mailchimp

How ?

Steps:

  1. Register
  2. Fill the required fields to create an email instance.
  3. Create a token & send a test mail.
  4. Copy the integration example depending on what language you use.

At the end, it consist of 1 URL that you POST your message with a Bearer token. And voila ! The email is sent !

When ?

I'm in the process of finalizing the app right now
I'm also checking if people might want to use / test it, so feel free to drop a comment to support !

Screenshots

Image description

Image description

Image description

Peace form France ! ✌️

Top comments (0)