DEV Community

zanetti4
zanetti4

Posted on

Error on build in vue project

ERROR in static20230207/js/message.js from UglifyJs
SyntaxError: Unexpected token: name (Vue) [./src/module/message/message.js:1,7]

I have a vue 1 project. I meet the above error as running npm run build. My current node-sass version is ^4.12.0 and node.js version is 18.15.0.

I have searched many information on web and try to resolve it. I created the .babelrc file and this was the content.

{
    "presets": [
        ["env", {
         "modules": false ,
         "targets": {
           "browsers": ["> 1%", "last 2 versions", "not ie <= 8"]
          }
        }],
        "stage-2"
    ],
    "plugins": ["transform-runtime"],
    "comments": false,
    "env": {
        "test": {
            "presets": ["env", "stage-2"],
            "plugins": ["istanbul"]
        }
    }
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I also added some configuration in the module node of webpack.base.conf.js.

rules: [
   { test :/\.js$/, use :'babel-loader',  exclude:/node_modules/ }
]
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

But it isn't work. There are the same errors when I build the project. Please someone help me!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
aarone4 profile image
Aaron Reese

I has similar problems pulling down a Vue2 app to a new machine. Eventually set up a new Vue 3 app and migrated everything across. It took time and was painful
Delete all the node packages and reinstall.
Remove all your components, router and sass files and go back to a base Hello Word app
If this works start adding things back in. If not, create a new project and start copying stuff across until it breaks

Collapse
 
zanetti4 profile image
zanetti4

Thank you so much! I'll try it. If it doesn't work, I would create a new Vue 3 app. After all, I only want to use a couple of views in it. The current app based on Vue 1 is too old and its developer is a previous engineer.

Collapse
 
aaronre16397861 profile image
Aaron Reese

I would definately be moving that over to Vue 3. Probably less effort overall if the app is of any size.