DEV Community

Cover image for Senior vs Junior
Petr Zaparka
Petr Zaparka

Posted on

Senior vs Junior

One of the ways how you can tell when you are talking to a junior developer is the communication level.

I spend 20 minutes on a call with someone who should be able to help me with a problem that is miles outside of my knowledge level.

My approach was to describe the situation. How I got to the point I am now. Where I'm coming from and what I need at the end.
The other person didn't ask any questions just look at things I send him. I could tell he was out of his knowledge level, too, which is fine. But what I was expecting him to do was to try to propose solutions or get someone with more knowledge. Neither happened.

He was afraid to say I don't know.

I am generalising here a lot. Not every junior is this way. But the sad fact is that most of them are. If you think there is even a chance you might have a similar problem and would like to help with that. DM me please I can help.

Happy coding.

Top comments (0)