DEV Community

Zach
Zach

Posted on

Putting Things Together

We've been working on the 'Cow List' sprint this week. I'm in a pretty good place having made a solid connection between the database and a React component that consumes queried data.

This is the part of learning that I really enjoy. Using the tools and building the muscle memory of making small things work. It feels like weeks since we last handled React but that was only seven or eight days ago. Sure, I remembered a bunch, but I feel like I forgot even more. This project is a great refresher and makes me want to continue the repetition of building these React components to become super fluent in the framework. I want to revisit the last React project (Movie List) and, as my classmate put it, speed run it. (It'd be a slow walk the first time, but after a couple reps it'd be run.)

Another classmate said:

I'd rather have as much muscle memory as I possibly can with getting the structure of the app going.

I fully agree.

I can feel callbacks coming along. Same with Express. They're all related. Practice, practice, practice.

A few things I picked up today:

  • npm run watch to get babel to transpile. The command runs webpack.config.js. I'm not exactly what sure what goes on but it's a worthy note nonetheless.

  • import in the frontend, require in the backend (Node).

  • Time to learn 'lifecycle' stuff in React. Used componentDidMount for the first time to make an .ajax call. It was good practice with callback style functions, too.

Top comments (0)