DEV Community

Ethan
Ethan

Posted on

What I Learned This Week. Week 17.

Welcome back to another week. I am actually writing this the following Monday. Over the weekend I fell short on pretty much all my responsibilities. If I had a job I would have taken a mental health week. However, I have a hard time not hating myself when I don't accomplish things throughout the week. So I tried to do a half load or so, and I just felt overwhelmed by the sheer amount of intrusive thoughts that I have to combat. Telling me I am lazy, useless, dumb, will never get a job, etc. On a daily basis, I usually deal with it sporadically, but needing to combat my mean thoughts with self love and encouragement is exhausting. Oh and just incase you couldn't figure it out from the tone of how I am writing. I wasn't selected for the project phase of the Twitch apprenticeship. I fully believe that if given the chance, I would have rocked the project and been chosen for the job. But alas I did not get picked. I made it to the top 1.3%. This was no easy feat and I should be proud of myself for making it that far. The work I put into it gave me many opportunities to learn that have already been shown to be important. I learned how to correctly use a temporary table in SQL and even got a chance to apply it in a real life situation. Ever since I got rejected I was able to dive into my new projects where I get to showcase my skills. One of which I haven't had a chance to practice with, which is creating data pipelines. For my new project, I am using the League of Legends API to source my own dataset. In order to have the data be actionable, I need to preprocess every row I insert and set up a script to source the data itself. Doing this is definitely more fun compared to learning new SQL techniques, so I am excited to have a change of pace. All I need to do is keep up on my personal responsibilities and continue love myself.

Top comments (0)