DEV Community

Ethan
Ethan

Posted on • Updated on

Why Data Science

What is Data Science?

Data Science is everywhere. We see it everyday. Even hear about it on the news. But what is data science. Data science is the receiving, cleaning and understanding data in order to answer a variety of questions such as how many workers are needed, whether or not to approve a loan, even to detect fraud.

What led me to choose Data Science

Growing up I was a gifted child. Unfortunately, along with many others, I fell victim to never learning how to learn. I did well in high-school, taking AP classes and ending with magna cum laude. But as I got to college and the workload increased, I was very overwhelmed. I went on academic probation after the first semester and decided to drop out after my third. I knew I wanted to do something with computer science as those were my most enjoyable classes but had no idea what to do next. Two years later I happen upon Flatiron School on Tiktok. I went through their free courses and Data science peaked my interest. The freedom to work from home, as well as the many kinds of opportunities Data science presents is what I found most appealing.

What I want to do with Data Science

I am not the type of person who is happy and driven doing the exact same work for 20+ years. That is why I am a Data Scientist.
What I am most interested to dive into is machine learning. But that will change as I grow and learn more and more. I want to help work with data that will combat climate change, grow infrastructure in developing countries, help with disease prevention rather than cures and treatments. But I also want to figure out statistically what's the best way to win a League of Legends game, and how traffic lights should work to better deal with traffic. Data science gives me all the tools I need in order to make a difference and answer all of the meta questions floating around in my head.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
braide profile image
Katerina Braide

this is so nice and motivating. i can relate to most of this and specifically the need to evolve continually.