DEV Community

Cover image for Former Apple Genius, left to go on a 16 month roadtrip and am now learning to code
zed
zed

Posted on • Updated on

Former Apple Genius, left to go on a 16 month roadtrip and am now learning to code

console.log("Hello, Ya'll")

From 2016 to 2019 I was a Genius at Apple Retail in NYC, Seattle, and D.C. July 2019 I left Apple to go on the roadtrip of a lifetime: 16 months, 36 states, and 2 provinces. When I set out, it was going to only be 3 months but I kept adding more time.

With the advent of the coronavirus, my trip's end date was undefined. 1 month ago, after finishing a phone call with a developer friend of mine I was convinced that my next step was to learn to code.

For the next 5 months I will be learning mainly Ruby and Javascript through Flatiron School's bootcamp. I'm here on dev.to to share my story of coding.

Alt Text

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

Are you using any books to learn JavaScript? I'm curious because I know a lot of people begin with online learning, but IMO books offer some rich background that sometimes we miss when only using online learning. Just curious.

I really like JavaScript: The Definitive Guide (4th ed.) via amazon. It might be one you'd like to read along side the online training.
Good luck and have fun with it. I always like to build small projects to keep myself focused on moving forward with the technology.

Collapse
 
zed profile image
zed

Thanks for the suggestion, but as of right now I'm not using any books.

My Flatiron classes actually start January 11 and that will be concurrent learning with an instructor other students (over zoom, slack, etc...). Leading up to Jan. 11 is about 100hrs of pre-work that is more similar to what you're imagining online learning to look like.

I feel like I'm learning alot already, even though I haven't been doing this too long. Will look into getting a textbook if I'm not feeling so confident down the line.

Collapse
 
leewynne profile image
Lee Wynne

It is inevitable that you will end up at Michael Hartl's learn enough society to read his excellent Ruby book and legendary Rails tutorial. You're gonna love it.

Collapse
 
zed profile image
zed

Looking forward to it!

Collapse
 
leewynne profile image
Lee Wynne

I have one word for you. โ€˜Palindromeโ€™ come back here when you know ๐Ÿ˜…

Collapse
 
dmahely profile image
Doaa Mahely

That road trip sounds like a dream! Good luck with your new career ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿฝ
Looking forward for your future posts.

Collapse
 
zed profile image
zed

Thanks!