DEV Community

Oscar Ortiz
Oscar Ortiz

Posted on

Devblog #1: Welcome to Pixelino — The Birth of a Minimalist Pixel Art Drawing Tool

Pixelino Cover

You can follow the project here: https://zitrocodee.itch.io/pixelino

Greetings, technology enthusiasts! 👋 I’m Zitrocode, and I’m thrilled to welcome you to my first devblog. Some of you may already know me from my “touch-win” and “inkwell” projects (although the latter, sadly, was abandoned). 😔 But today, I’m here to talk about Pixelino, my latest project. I promise this one won’t be abandoned, and to make sure of that, I’ve decided to make it public and keep a devblog of its development. In this space, I’ll share with you the entire creation process of my newest project: Pixelino, a minimalist pixel art drawing tool that will make it easier for people with no prior knowledge to enter this world.

For the past few months, I’ve been training in video game development and have discovered that creating pixel art is an incredibly useful skill in this field and other multimedia projects. However, during my search for pixel art tools, I found that many programs on the market were complicated to use or had a confusing interface for beginners.

That’s when I decided to create my own pixel art drawing tool: Pixelino. With this project, not only can I improve my programming and design skills, but also create an accessible and easy-to-use tool for other pixel art and game development enthusiasts.

With Pixelino, I aim to make the tools easy to find and use, without cluttering the space with tools that could confuse the user. Additionally, my goal is to create a minimalist tool that is accessible for those who are just entering the world of pixel art.

Through this series of devblogs, I’ll show you the entire creation process of Pixelino, from the technical details to the creative decisions behind its design. I’m excited for you to join me on this journey of creation, learning, and fun.

I plan to publish content almost every day so that you can closely follow the creation process of Pixelino and learn from my technical and creative decisions. I’ll show you every step I take in development, from selecting programming and design tools to usability testing and final release.

I want these devblogs to be not only a window into my creative process but also an invitation for us to embark on this exciting journey together. I’d love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, and feedback as we progress through Pixelino’s development. I hope this project will be a source of inspiration and learning for both me and all of you, and together we can create an incredible tool for pixel art.

Thank you for being a part of this project and for accompanying me on this creative adventure! ✨

Top comments (0)