DEV Community

Could mastermind groups work for developers?

The idea of a mastermind group is something you hear quite a lot in entrepreneurship circles, but I haven't heard it discussed among developers, and I wonder if it could work.

The idea is to have a small group of pople who meet regularly, either in person or via video chat, to...

  • Ask for advice
  • Share experiences
  • Keep each other accountable for working on personal goals.

I've heard a lot of talk about mentorship within this community. And while 1 on 1 mentorship is useful, I'm wondering whether more minds on a question might improve upon it, while keeping the closeness and trust of a small-group setting.

What are your thoughts?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
mandy6720 profile image
Amanda Hewitt

I don't see why not! If you think about it, isn't standup/scrum kind of a mastermind group for just your team? 😁