DEV Community

aaronblondeau
aaronblondeau

Posted on • Updated on

Use Hasura, impress your friends.

I used Hasura to build the backend for TerraQuest. There was simply no other way to create a full featured API in the amount of time I had available. At the time I was worried that I would pay some sort of a price for the exceptionally fast development turnaround that Hasura offered.

Whenever I try to use a backend offering like Hasura I usually find a showstopper pretty quickly. From expensive pricing, to vendor lock-in, to a lack of support for spatial queries, they draw you in and then quickly disappoint.

Hasura has proven to be quite the opposite:

  • You can host it yourself or in the cloud.
  • If Hasura goes bust or GraphQL ever goes out of style you'll have a well organized database that you can wrap up with something else.
  • You have the full power of PostGRES (and PostGIS) with no limitations.
  • In exchange for setting up tables in your database, Hasura will gift you a fast and secure API that just works.
  • It is easy to extend with events, custom actions, or even other apis.

Since I will certainly be using Hasura again, I am working on building out some starter projects for Node and .NET. The Node.js version is coming together and can be found here.

Top comments (0)