DEV Community

Adam Gordon Bell
Adam Gordon Bell

Posted on

Do you use GRPC?

I'm writing an article about GRPC and protobufs. Here is the thing I'd like to know:

What tools to you use for making GRPC requests?

Like if you just want to test that a service is up and taking requests? I'd like a command line one that is simple to use and install and wondering what people use.

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
anandsunderraman profile image
anandsunderraman • Edited

Postman recently started supporting grpc.
Otherwise I use grpccurl. blog.postman.com/postman-now-suppo...

Collapse
 
gklijs profile image
Gerard Klijs

Didn't know that, as I'm about to be doing a lot more with gRPC, I check it out soon.

Collapse
 
anandsunderraman profile image
anandsunderraman

Yes I posted a link in the postman blog that talks about blog.postman.com/postman-now-suppo...

Collapse
 
burneyhoel profile image
Burney Hoel • Edited

I use it personally but not professionally. I have brought it up at work and aside from the closed minded responses, rest is just where my department is at right now.

As far as tools go, I have a few things stared on git hub to check out(below), but have not tryed any yet.

github.com/gogo/letmegrpc
github.com/fullstorydev/grpcui
github.com/gusaul/grpcox

Postman beta now has grpc support.

So far I have just written little go services to act as the other side instead of using tools, but remember I just use it for fun becuase I like it.

Collapse
 
adamgordonbell profile image
Adam Gordon Bell

Wow, thanks!
I'll check these out

Collapse
 
beardedfatcoder profile image
beardedfatcoder

Postman has started supporting gRPC might want to check that.
Would surely want to know when do you find gRPC useful ?

Collapse
 
hiisi13 profile image
Dmitry Kozhedubov

I wrote a couple of posts about gRPC testing tooling for various situations - hope you find this useful
dev.to/hiisi13/series/14758

Collapse
 
adamgordonbell profile image
Adam Gordon Bell

This is great! Exactly the type of thing I'm looking for.

Collapse
 
adamgordonbell profile image
Adam Gordon Bell

I've asked my coworkers and they recommend BloomRPC, which looks great but isn't a CLI app

github.com/bloomrpc/bloomrpc

Collapse
 
remcoboerma profile image
Remco Boerma

If I were coding in golang I probably would, but from python there's a lot of redband the last time I checked.

Collapse
 
joealwyn123 profile image
Joe Alwyn • Edited

yeah,

BloomRPC

GitHub logo bloomrpc / bloomrpc

GUI Client for GRPC Services