DEV Community

Adrian Twarog
Adrian Twarog

Posted on

The Importance of Finishing Projects you Start

When I started down the path of development and design, I was excited. I wanted to build all the things. And to a certain degree, I started to. But before I knew it, I had hundreds of little projects that were either half complete or less.

Today's topic I want to bring awareness on is finishing what you start, especially projects. Too often people get excited when it comes to building out something new. There is a rush knowing you can do it, and getting started. But this honeymoon phase wears off. New ideas come by. Before you know it, your project is just another GitHub repository that will never receive any more commits and won't be completed.

This can continue on for years.

Youtube: Importance of Finishing Projects

So I am going to stay this once. Having one or two completed projects is vastly superior to having ten times as many uncompleted ones.

For me, when I finally committed to finished a single project, it took me over a year. It was to build a VPN service. But once it was done, I was able to use it to not just earn passive income.

This one project was the stepping stone for helping me get my first development job.

Since then, I always set aside one goal or project I want to do each year.

This year it is starting a youtube channel to teach others programming and thing's I've learned along the way. What about you? How many projects have you left incompleted?

I hope this article helps you decide to finish at least one upcoming project and see it through. Feel free to share things you've already made.

Hard work can take you far.

Follow and support me:

Special thanks if you subscribe to my channel :)

Want to see more:

I will try to post new great content every day. Here are the latest items:

Top comments (0)