DEV Community

Cover image for I tried the Apple Vision Pro as a Developer
Adrian Twarog
Adrian Twarog

Posted on

I tried the Apple Vision Pro as a Developer

So I tried the Apple Vision Pro for day-to-day tasks such as programming in VS Code, designing in Figma and general day to day use like writing emails, watching videos, etc.

VS Code AVP

TLDR;

  • 😀 The Apple Vision Pro is futuristic, it offers a clear user interface with familiar Apple menu navigation and amazing eye-tracking!
  • 🔍 It supports multi-tasking with the ability to resize and position windows for an immersive workspace.
  • 🎥 I did enjoy a virtual environment for focused work or entertainment, with the ability to dim or block out the real world.
  • 💻 The Vision Pro can replicate the experience of using a large monitor or multiple monitors, but with some blurriness and focus issues.
  • 👓 Despite the high price tag, I think the Vision Pro may not offer a significant advantage over traditional monitors for tasks like coding and design. Small fonts in VS Code are harder to see.
  • 🤔 There are some issues using the Apple Vision Pro for everyday work, I find it more a novelty or occasional-use device.

Vision Pro is a hypothetical advanced VR device. I used it to perform various tasks, such as programming, browsing, and designing, and it is evaluated for its usability and convenience in a day-to-day setting. This of course included using it for Visual Studio Code and creating designs in Figma. But lots of other things too!

Apple Vision Pro for Programming

Figma in VR

Creating websites designs in Figma felt more comfortable when replicated my laptop screen in a larger view. However it was a bit difficult always looking at the design through the VR headset since it was often blurry around the edges, and I like the feel of a pixel perfect monitor close up.

Figma in VR

VS Code in VR

Using Visual Studio Code had the same issues. Fonts are harder to read inside of Virtual reality. While AVP has come a long way with higher resolutions than its competitors, I still found using a regular monitor easier.

VSCODE in VR

There is no native VS Code application either, and while GitHub Codespaces could be used inside of Safari, I wouldn't be able to work on a project locally, and would need to bring my laptop anyway. I did like the fact that the mouse and keyboard tracking carried across from my keyboard to virtual screens though!

VSCODE Apple Vison Pro

Conclusion

Personally I wouldn't recommend using the Apple Vision Pro for coding or designing. While I really enjoy it as a tech product, it's more something worth trying out for a demo, but waiting until there is more maturity in the VR space that makes using such things long term and with higher resolution possible so that it isn't a strain to 'adapt' to using it.

I will be looking forward to what Vision OS 2 brings, and what is on the horizon with Meta Quest as well!

Top comments (0)