DEV Community

Cover image for Real Life Scenarios I: Avoiding Extra Scripts in Database Operations with JPA/Hibernate 👀
Agit Rubar Demir
Agit Rubar Demir

Posted on

Real Life Scenarios I: Avoiding Extra Scripts in Database Operations with JPA/Hibernate 👀

📢 I’ve translated and compiled my Medium article into English on SubStack. Have you ever thought about the significance of the ID field when performing database operations using JPA/Hibernate? Misusing the ID field can lead to data inconsistencies and unexpected update issues.

📝 In my latest blog post, I provide a guide with real-world scenarios on the correct usage of the ID field. This post covers:
• Why incorrect usage of the ID field can be problematic,
• How assigning IDs in the application layer can lead to unintended consequences,
• Why using the @GeneratedValue annotation is a more reliable option.

💡 Learn the best practices for managing the ID field and how to avoid common pitfalls in database operations with JPA/Hibernate. I’ve supported my explanations with practical code examples and scenarios.

📘 Highlights from the post:
• Example of Incorrect ID Usage
• Correct ID Usage with @GeneratedValue
• Practical Code Samples

👨‍💻 This blog post is invaluable for anyone looking to perform database operations more effectively and securely with JPA/Hibernate.

🔗 https://agitrubard.substack.com/p/real-life-scenarios-i-avoiding-extra

🚀 If you enjoyed the post, please leave a comment or share it to help spread the knowledge. I look forward to your feedback!

Top comments (0)