DEV Community

Ain Catoni
Ain Catoni

Posted on

Anyone that still use svn over git?

Hi this is my first post here, I'm a front dev (layout mostly) who lives and work in Chile (South America) and here in my job (a big tech retailer) we still use svn as a control version system, and I think its pretty uncommon on these days.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
alexsaezm profile image
Álex Sáez

In my experience, it is normal to find projects still using svn or mercurial, mostly because they started years ago or because the whole company works on that. Unless there's a real technical reason to migrate, there's little advantage to do it.

Collapse
 
aincatoni profile image
Ain Catoni

At the first i was a little bit sad to had to work with svn and for not be able to gain experience with git, but now i'm really happy to understand in a little bit of both worlds