DEV Community

Andrew Truex
Andrew Truex

Posted on

How to Gain Social Media following simply from being a dev?

So I have been a developer for a few years now but cannot seem to figure out how to grow a social media following.

I see devs out there with similar or fewer credentials than myself with hundreds or even thousands of followers.

So I guess my question is: how do I gain more followers on my personal dev twitter account?

Any and all support would be greatly appreciated.

Hope to hear from some of you soon,

Andrew Truex

[deleted user] image

[Deleted User]

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
loftwah profile image
Dean W Lofts

What do you consider a decent following? I've gained a fair bit of followers but it wasn't from being a dev. I've only recently started bridging it all together, with my initial following coming from music production.

Collapse
 
quii profile image
Chris James

I see devs out there with similar or fewer credentials than myself with hundreds or even thousands of followers.

Curious to know how you evaluate this.

I've worked with devs with half the experience I have but they're probably twice as good as me, years of experience really isn't a great indicator.

Collapse
 
danielpdev profile image
danielpdev

You are not the only one asking this take a look on this thread:
twitter.com/dvassallo/status/12360... by Daniel Vassallo

Collapse
 
danielpdev profile image
danielpdev • Edited

I don't really know what the secret is to make a big impact on twitter, but I assume that by creating quality content people will eventually notice you.

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

Some ideas:

  • Start a coding live-stream or video-channel, where you code up a non-trivial project.
  • Pick a niche-topic to dive-in and do articles and conf-talks about it.