DEV Community

Mohammad Alahmadi
Mohammad Alahmadi

Posted on

How do you emotionally deal with rejections?

I recently left my job to take some break and focus on studying for interviews and applying full time. I completely forgot how hurtful I feel when I get rejected by my "dream" company. It's like getting rejected by your crush. I guess the feelings are even stronger since I am putting almost 100% of my time dedicated interview preparation.

How do you all deal with this without losing motivation? How do you keep yourself disciplined and not let it affect your determination? How do you prevent it from affecting your confidence in yourself?

I know this is an overdone topic, but I am curious about how everyone on this community deals with this.

One way I learned is to never resist sad feelings or pretend to be strong. I try let them surface to their fullest and take their course.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
claudiobernasconi profile image
Claudio Bernasconi

First of all, I try to not fall in love with a job offer. I approach the first interview like the first date. Let's get to know each other and talk about things that matter in our lives.

Remember, interviews are not only about you. It's also crucial for you to get insight into the values of the company.

Next, I'd prepare as hard as possible as you do. The upside is that if I get rejected by a dream company I can always say I did my best. Honestly, I would be proud of being able to say that I got rejected by Google or Microsoft, but I did not even try!

It's all about the mindset. I think that if the company doesn't want you-you're just not the right guy and there will be another position at another company that fits you better.

Collapse
 
alahmadiq8 profile image
Mohammad Alahmadi

Thank you so much Claudio. This is super helpful.

Honestly, I would be proud of being able to say that I got rejected by Google or Microsoft, but I did not even try!

This is such a great way to think about it.