DEV Community

Cover image for I'm Making Great Progress on my Side Project and I'm Freaking Ecstatic
Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

I'm Making Great Progress on my Side Project and I'm Freaking Ecstatic

This post was originally published on May 26, 2020 on my blog.

Wow, happy Tuesday - I'm on a freaking roll since last night. Allow me to explain...

So, yesterday I finally implemented a timing feature for my Wellbean app. Essentially, after a given number of hours (depending on the frequency set i.e. Daily, Weekly, etc), each list item will either stay white (default, timer hasn't expired) or turn red (expired, timer has run out).

When the list item/contact turns red, it means the user should consider contacting that particular contact, based on their pre-set contact suggestion frequency.

Screenshot of Wellbean UI

Ah! I'm so freaking excited about it. It's crazy how it's all coming together, both in the code and in my mind! I'm so proud of it all.

I'm going to focus today's work on learning how to implement Firebase rules for the database so that I can publicly release it while keeping the data private.

Then, after today, I'm going to wrap it all up, record a demo on Loom, craft up a big readME for the GitHub repo, and shout from the rooftops! Cheers.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
phantas0s profile image
Matthieu Cneude

I know how you feel, and I love it so much! That's why I'm never bored building stuff. Continue the good work!

Collapse
 
alexlsalt profile image
Alex Morton

Exactly, Matthieu!! There's no way to be bored when you're building things purely from your ideas and creativity! ⚡

Collapse
 
mjsarfatti profile image
Manuele J Sarfatti

It's crazy how it's all coming together, both in the code and in my mind!

It's the best feeling isn't it??

Collapse
 
alexlsalt profile image
Alex Morton

It totally is!! Can't wait to keep learning and building :D