DEV Community

Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on

The Unexpected Blessing of Being Out of Work

Yesterday I was inspired by someone on Twitter proclaiming the improvements to her overall life despite being out of work and on the hunt for a new job. And I fully, completely agree.

Fortunately, in my final months at my last job (which I left at the end of 2019), I was able to really put my head down and save up a hefty living expense fund that's set to last me several months. I knew I wanted to make the transition to become a software developer, and I also knew that I didn't want to be rushed and at the end of my rope financially when it came to finding the perfect fit for my career.

In the two months that I've been unemployed, I've done so, so much. Not to mention, I'm probably in the best place I've been physically, mentally, and emotionally - maybe ever.

Giving myself the opportunity for a long runway definitely took some planning and sacrifice in the months leading up to it, but I wouldn't have it any other way. I currently spend my days working through my JavaScript learning process, building projects, applying to jobs only (!!) if they inspire me and make me feel like I'd like to be a part of the team, going to the park with my pup, reading (so much reading), getting regular wonderful exercise, and getting at least 8-9 hours of sleep every night.

As I was leafing through my copy of How To Be Parisian Wherever You Are (love this sassy little book!), this passage stood out to me, especially during this particular period of my life:

Take the time to talk to the elderly lady next door, to read a book, to walk to work instead of riding the subway when it's a beautiful day. Take the time to escape for a weekend with friends.

Take the time to listen and to get to know yourself. Take the time to change, to grow, to rest. Take the time to say yes, take the time to say no. Take the time to look after your body, to eat well. Take the time to ask yourself who you are and what you want.

...

Take the time to take time because nobody else will do it for you.

So, in this beautiful, lingering period of being between jobs and in the midst of a major career transition, here's to doing just that.

This post was originally published on February 27, 2020 on my blog.

Top comments (0)