DEV Community

Alexx Martínez
Alexx Martínez

Posted on

I'm Losing The Motivation Needed, HELP!

I've finished the "Front-End" section in freeCodeCamp and in the Colt Steele's course "The Web Developer Bootcamp", right now I have completed the "CSS Flexbox" section from the "Advanced Web Developer Bootcamp" but a lot of developers recommended that I should first have a firm grasp of JavaScript before moving to React, which led to reading the "You Don't Know JavaScript" Series.

The books are amazing and offer a lot of value but the fact that I know that I'll be reading instead of coding a specific project leads me to procrastinate and do a lot of stuff rather than studying - and don't get me wrong, I love books.

I really want to finish this book series and I want to read "Eloquent JavaScript 3rd Edition". Do you have any tips that I could follow to move past this boring/frustrating part of my Web Development career?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
devhead profile image
dev-head

read less, build more.

Collapse
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma

exactly.

Collapse
 
ghost profile image
Ghost • Edited

Find a way to practically use it! There's nothing more satisfying then learning something, then using those skills straight away to build something 🔥 (even if it's just as basic as an iframe!)