DEV Community

Ali Hussain Dhuniya
Ali Hussain Dhuniya

Posted on

What is the biggest difference between hobby programming and professional programming? Fredrik Christenson

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
stevenboutcher profile image
Steven Boutcher

I wish I had seen this video prior to spending 6 months in a professional front-end engineering apprenticeship at my current company! It's all true and I definitely realized I'm passionate about the freedom to make whatever I want, and I'm happy sticking to hobby development. They were about to offer me a full-time role and I turned it down because I just hate having all the parameters for each project already defined and having to learn tech I'm not interested in lol

I went back to QA where I had enjoyed the work more, but I've already started my next side project app only 2 weeks after ditching the apprenticeship, whereas I'd all-but-stopped making anything on the side during the apprenticeship.

This is advice more hobbyists should really let land before they try to make a career out of it. There's a totally different level of commitment and a service-oriented mindset needed to excel as a professional developer.