DEV Community

Cover image for First Hacktoberfest: A challenge!
Alina Sahoo
Alina Sahoo

Posted on

First Hacktoberfest: A challenge!

Story Behind This!!

Hacktoberfest Completed

Hacktoberfest: A Challenge!

Well, frankly speaking I created my GitHub profile in the last week of September. I am new to this world of Dev and GitHub Community. I hardly knew anything of open source contribution. I had just heard of it so far. Yes, this seems little hard to believe for me as I am soon to graduate in 2021 and I have not been in these platforms so far.

I didn't even know anything from creating repository or doing any commits. Pull requests, Stars, Forks, all these terms were completely new for me. So, I started learning on GitHub's Learning Lab. From creating my first repository, to adding few lines of code so that my markdown pages look beautiful. Editing every README files were also challenging for me. I didn't know if I would learn so soon. So far, by the end of 1st day, I had learnt pretty few things and checked out nice repositories of various developers.

I then thought to add some of my files to GitHub. I made it a habit that I will commit something to my profile everyday. Till date as of today, I have made 200 contributions in 22 days. As said for the beginners they should try to see any flaws in the documentation first, then they should contribute. I went through many repos, but couldn't find anything syntactically wrong. I was disappointed at first.

Contributions

Then, I found a repo where you just had to add a JavaScript file mentioning your name and profile as a pull request. I gave it a try and seeing my PR getting merged was immensely satisfying. Till then, I didn't know anything of Hacktoberfest. I just wanted to contribute of any kind. I started searching for repositories of any kind, whether it was contributing an idea or adding your algorithms. Soon, few of my PRs started getting merged and seeing that made me happy everyday.

I wanted to make the most of it and registered for this fest. All you needed was to make 4 PRs to any public repository but since I was a bit familiar with the community I thought of adding some reasonable pull requests. I added few algorithms related to Data-Structures, few ideas, few resources for the beginners and yay I had done the required PRs but yes, while contributing to well known-repositories of various technologies, you need to be a bit careful.

Today marks the day, where all my PRs have been qualified as part of Hacktoberfest and will be soon receiving my goodies. I just wanted to write up this post on DEV community.

I am grateful to everyone in the process involved.

Thank You

Top comments (0)