DEV Community

Alvin Bryan
Alvin Bryan

Posted on • Originally published at alvin.codes

Nifty command lines: series intro

I remember when scary terminals became required for web programmers. No more double-clicking index.html. You had to, gasp, run a command to work on your website. Who said they miss FTP? Not me…

I discovered later that the dreaded terminal could do operations that I used random websites for. For instance: Convert a font, a video, etc. While websites work, they can break, start showing NSFW ads, or stop being maintained.

Command-line interfaces have been around for years (if not decades) without ever changing. Also, it’s easier to remember a command than a bookmark.

Housekeeping

I recommend using Homebrew to install your command line tools. It works on macOS, Linux, and Windows using WSL2.

Top comments (0)