DEV Community

Amberley Romo
Amberley Romo

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at amberley.blog

Reflecting on code bootcamp, three years later

There have been only two times in my life that I’ve kept a consistent blog. The first was my study abroad experience in China. The second was my time at Makersquare. (Makersquare was acquired by Hack Reactor, which is now a project of Galvanize. Lol, startups.)

At some point I decided to make all my bootcamp posts privately published (on my old WordPress blog). Yesterday, I decided to port them over and re-publish them. It’s now been three years, but if anyone is currently going through a bootcamp, or considering it, I hope that perhaps they find it helpful.

Weekly bootcamp posts

Was it worth it?

Short answer, yes.

I had been trying to break into full-time web development for years, and at the time, I still didn’t feel I’d done it.

I ran a Twitter poll asking how long I had been a developer. 61% said 10+ years (when I started tinkering with code). 21% said 9-10 years (when I started building static sites). 11% said 5-8 years (when I started building WordPress sites). 7% said 3-4 years (when I started building React apps.)

I needed a complete change of pace, and a completely focused time period to focus on the pivot. I’m grateful that I had the opportunity to do so. I f’n love what Lambda School is doing to make this pivot more accessible to a wider range of people. (Enjoyed this Founder’s talk podcast episode feat. founder Austin Allred recently). Note: I have no experience with Lambda. My intention is to highlight the issue of access. See also: freeCodeCamp.

I took a chance on a bootcamp because:

  • I had been scratching at the door and doing the work for a long time, I already knew it was something I enjoyed.
  • Despite the fact that bootcamps were pretty much a new thing, and unregulated, I felt it conferred some greater level of validation, and gave me a better shot. (They’re not so new anymore, I feel like I was at the tail-end of that).
  • I needed to invest in a hard pivot. Working my way gradually wasn’t working.

I’m so grateful to be where I am now, and it’s absolutely mind-blowing that the bootcamp was three years ago. Also, none of this would be possible without these folks.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

Thank you for sharing your story week by week. I really enjoyed it, especially your thoughts on pair programming, D3 and data visualisation.