DEV Community

Cover image for What made your internship worthwhile?
Aaron McQuade
Aaron McQuade

Posted on

What made your internship worthwhile?

Our company loves interns. With so many local colleges encouraging co-ops, we are able to keep a healthy supply of interns year-round. In my opinion, interning at our small company provides awesome exposure to lots of different facets of web development, but while they get to do a lot of coding, the internship doesn't offer too much career development. What were some of your favorite or most helpful experiences your internship provided?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
galvc profile image
galvc

Hi Aaron!
I have two great experiences from different internships that I'd like to share.

I had an internship where I did an average amount of coding and didn't provide me with a lot of new knowledge, however it stands out in my resume. I also reference it a lot in my other job interviews. It was because they gave me a project where I owned it and was fully accountable. This was something the employees will be using every day if I succeeded. This meant I had a professional stake in it and was determined to launch it at the end of my term. I left that internship accomplished and feeling incredibly proud of myself!
They always say metrics matter when it comes to describing your work experience in your resume. (for example: My project X was used by X employees daily. It also saved X amount of time for the maintainers.) Having that in my resume mattered a lot to me.

The second one was the presence of an actual mentor. My internship was organized, structured, and had valuable experiences that wasn't easily accessible to me previously: client communication, participating in team meetings, providing insight/input, providing directions to a product - pretty much just as a regular employee would.

After experiencing various internship styles, I always looked for these: mentorship, project accountability, and structured internship program.