DEV Community

Amanu
Amanu

Posted on

Is it `On Production` or 'In Production`

I've got a little bit of Non-native speaker syndrome and I would like to get a second opinion on this.

Which one is correct.

The new version of some-service is on production?

or

The new version of some-service is in production?

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
joshransley profile image
Josh Ransley

I'm not sure which is correct, but I would use and most often see "in production".

I might say "something is on the production server", but "something is in production".

Collapse
 
tanguyandreani profile image
Tanguy Andreani

I always hear in but now I have doubts.

Collapse
 
amexboy profile image
Amanu

I hoped to achieve this

Collapse
 
amexboy profile image
Amanu

My doubt on here is that in production makes it seem like in the process of being produced. ;-)

Collapse
 
xyuri profile image
x-yuri

It depends on the context. In this case it's not about producing.

Collapse
 
garaisnx profile image
garaisnx

IN can be used in referring to a state
e.g.,

  • in development
  • in testing
  • in production

ON can be used in referring to a location

  • on development server
  • on testing server
  • on production server
Collapse
 
anpos231 profile image
anpos231 • Edited

I am not a native speaker either but my understanding is:

Some service is in production (mode/deployment).
Some service is on production server.

Collapse
 
amexboy profile image
Amanu

Won't in production make it seem like it's being produced?

Collapse
 
xyuri profile image
x-yuri

"in production" sounds like a short for "in production environment." And you're missing an article: on a/the production server.

Collapse
 
v2e4lisp profile image
Yan Wenjun • Edited

Non-native speaker here. I always think "in production" is a short form of "in production environment", similarly we also have "in QA (environment)".