DEV Community

integervis
integervis

Posted on

I found a job!

I am so happy. It took 10 months to complete this career change from building engineering and architecture to coding.

The full stack web dev bootcamp was a great experience. So great that I resigned from my previous job (not tech related) and decided to pursue the dream full time.

After completing the bootcamp I started working there as a teaching assistant. This was a great experience to refresh and solidfy the whole experience. You learn OOP only when you try to explain it to someone who is not familiar with it.

I am now learning Java in this new company and loooking forward to post my findings.

Stay tuned!

Top comments (18)

Collapse
 
kristinegusta profile image
Kristine Gusta

You don't need to master everything before applying for a job. In fact, I think it's impossible. Don't be afraid of applying for jobs. Maybe 500 will deny you, but you only need 1 that won't . Good luck!

Collapse
 
integervis profile image
integervis

Great advice! If you apply for a job where you know everything you would not learn anything, right?

Thread Thread
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

Yes, it should not be unusual that a company expects people to learn.

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

It is hard to know without any details, but if you think it can be possible, you can try to apply and see, if you are successful or not. Maybe this is a good experience anyway.

Collapse
 
fayomihorace profile image
Horace FAYOMI

You know, you haven't really changed your career ^_^,
because in software engineering, we also create the architecture, we build the solid foundation, we put the bricks and we build something big, solid, beautiful.
Congrats and keep learning and growing.

Collapse
 
integervis profile image
integervis

Thanks! Funny enough I might become later again an architect :)

Collapse
 
integervis profile image
integervis

Sebastian, thanks for the comment. That's a really interesting point. I used to be very self-conscious of my english when I moved here and things improved with time. But still today some words would trigger me.
Is that the right meaning? right pronunciation?
And I am so jelous of those people who embrace their unique accents instead of feeling that their English is not enough. I think it's mainly a confidence issue and the only way to get over this is by showing up, every day. Do your thing. Start applying, do mistakes. Eventually you'll reach a point where you will be happy with your skills. Good luck!

Collapse
 
sakor profile image
Rokas

You are a legend 👏👏👏

Collapse
 
integervis profile image
integervis

AHAHAHAH Hey dude thanks!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!!!

Collapse
 
10xlearner profile image
10x learner • Edited

Congrats @anadamastor on your new job!
I wish you all the best in your dev career and life ❤️

Collapse
 
steinbring profile image
Joe Steinbring

Congrats! 🥳

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
saffeeurrehman profile image
Saffeeurrehman • Edited

First of all congrats you on getting Job, now a days it's a very hard to find a good job .....

Collapse
 
cyber226 profile image
Brenda Nieves

Congratulations!!! 🎉 Making a career change is never easy, as I’m doing it too, but I’m ready for my new adventure. Best of luck to you. You got this!!!!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

That’s great! You’re amazing!!!

Collapse
 
dlmarques profile image
Daniel Marques

Which bootcamp did you do?

Collapse
 
integervis profile image
integervis

Hi Daniel, sorry for the delay at getting back. It was the lewagon part time bootcamp. Six months of hard work but it really paid off!