DEV Community

Anandprabhu530
Anandprabhu530

Posted on

I was wrong about CSS this whole time!

Recently, I developed an Image Gallery Application (like unsplash.com). When I started this project, my mindset was to finish it without any errors. So, I jumped right in and planned how to split and develop it. Up to this point in time, I had ignored the styling part while developing applications. I would jump straight into the logic of the application. But until this point, I have never tried to do my best in CSS.

At first, based on the requirements, I thought that the development process would take around 4-5 hours. But after starting to style the application, I realized that I was wrong this whole time. I didn't even cared about CSS this whole time. Even when I developed applications that had styling in them, I had followed some kind of tutorial or reference videos.

But after making these many mistakes, I realized the importance of CSS and how it affects everyone's perspective of viewing any content. Even though the application is blazingly fast or have good functionalities, it will not be enough. An average user of the website will evaluate the website based on its appearance too.

From now on, I will be learning CSS and including it in every project. Throughout this Image Gallery application development, I have learned a lot in CSS.

Top comments (0)