DEV Community

Cover image for Sasa Juric on Static Typing and Beam Languages
ancatrusca
ancatrusca

Posted on

Sasa Juric on Static Typing and Beam Languages

In an excerpt from the upcoming Book Club Episode, Sasa Juric shares his opinion about static typing in BEAM languages.
"In my view, the lack of static typing is the biggest deficiency in BEAM languages. I know that there are like camps dynamic versus static. I've personally done both for like many, many years. For the past 15 years, I've been mostly using dynamic languages. I'm now pretty much certain to say that I believe that static is definitely a better option. I still love Erlang and Elixir. "

He is excited about new initiatives around including static typing in the BEAM ecosystem like Alpaca and Gleam.

Static Languages BEAM

Top comments (0)