DEV Community

Cover image for What do you do while you code?
Andrew Jackson
Andrew Jackson

Posted on

What do you do while you code?

‪I constantly find myself needing to watch #political debates or #documentaries while coding. Maybe not to watch it constantly but to have the background noise as well.‬

‪ ☝🏾☝🏾☝🏾☝🏾☝🏾☝🏾☝🏾‬
‪Am I the only one that does this???‬

If so what do you do while working?

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
jcadima profile image
Juan J Cadima

The moment i get to the office, i put my headphones on, while i dont listen to anything 80% of the time, it is just to block out the outside noise (people talking over the phone, or hearing their steps), and when i listen to anything, i mainly listen to podcasts or play some rain/thunder sounds which i find relaxing while working, anything to block out the noise here at the office.

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

I find myself playing with my hair in-between bursts of keystrokes. Especially when the reflection in the monitor is just right, but I imagine that's more of a girl thing. 👧

Collapse
 
devdrake0 profile image
Si

Definitely not just a girl thing 😄 - men with beards 👍

Collapse
 
sonandrew profile image
Andrew Jackson

Hey I do it too so I don’t think so... we’ll i don’t look in the mirror my daughter does that enough for me lol

Collapse
 
cescquintero profile image
Francisco Quintero 🇨🇴

I work in an open space office and I've been lately in a lead position. This means from time to time people approach to me to ask questions or just to talk.

As I face this kind of distraction frequently, I decided not to listen to music while at work. This way I don't need to put off my earphones anytime someone speaks to me 😆

Of course, sometimes I listen to music or podcasts but I mainly do not.

Collapse
 
sarahcodes_dev profile image
Sarah 🦄

I typically listen to music, mostly movie and video game scores. Really helps me focus.

Collapse
 
sonandrew profile image
Andrew Jackson

Haha true what systems you on?

Collapse
 
stegnerd profile image
Dalton Stegner

I twirl my pen or solve my rubik cube on my desk!

Collapse
 
sonandrew profile image
Andrew Jackson

Can you twirl through all fingers? I started with a coin when I was younger and saw “Two Face” do it.

Collapse
 
aurimasnejus profile image
AurimasNejus

Listen to Techno and Synthwave music, perfect boost to productivity!

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

I listen to classic alternative music and drink coffee.

Collapse
 
sonandrew profile image
Andrew Jackson

I don’t do coffee too much anymore because it makes me poooiooo.....

Collapse
 
bauripalash profile image
Palash Bauri 👻

Songs...♥️ Without them I can't focus 😅

Collapse
 
princealarming profile image
Prince-Alarming

While learning coding some sometimes, I put pandora on through the headphones.