DEV Community

Cover image for My day of Code - The Bare Minimum
Anita Olsen*°•.☆
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Posted on

My day of Code - The Bare Minimum

Today I decided to code to the bare minimum, just to see how that is like. I usually code for a little over 10 hours a day, so I am expecting today to be a little boring. I intend to compensate for that by playing games on Steam (not code related), by watching Gene Roddenberry's Andromenda on Pluto TV and by reading further in my book on the power of feelings.

15 min - Codecademy. The "Learn Intermediate Python 3: Object-Oriented Programming" course: I started over on the course and watched a video on Object-Oriented Programming, I defined a class and a class variable, and I ticked off a box (learning to code on the platform for at least 15 min a day is the minimum required amount to qualify for Codecademy's 30-Days Challenge).
Video on Object-Oriented Programming
I defined a class and a class variable, and I ticked off a box
 

A little over 10 min - CodeCombat. I coded, ran the code and won two coding matches + I ran a code for a singleplayer level which I technically completed the other day, so today I just ran it so it could get registered for today as I do my best to run a code a day and it is nice to make sure I got code to run for each day.

CodeCombat match 1
CodeCombat match 2
I am afraid I can not show you my code for the multiplayer matches because if I do, somebody might take my code, improve it and beat me. I risk waking up one morning to 100% losses on my matches! 😱
 

6 min - W3Schools. The HTML course: There was a page to read on HTML formatting + a HTML formatting exercise quiz to take which I did twice as I wanted to achieve the full score.
W3Schools HTML course lesson
W3Schools HTML course exercise quiz
 

My start page - All checked! ✨
My start page with all my dailies checked off

Total coding time: ca. 31 minutes!

 

How my day has been like so far:
-I woke up a little before 6 am.

-I completed all my coding dailies way before noon as usual.

-I started writing this post.

-It was getting close to 9 am which is my breakfast meal time, so I went to my local bakery for a large closed whole grain sandwich made especially for me ♡

-I overate at breakfast, became sleepy and went back to bed for a nap.

-I dreamt about Neopets and its creator. (Neopets is an online world were you adopt pets, go on adventures, play minigames, go shopping, join guilds, write in forums, participate in contests and etc. I used to be very active there and last year I got picked to beta-test an app with them.) I dreamed that we were hanging out and that he needed help with his site. I suggested DEV for him so that perhaps he could find somebody on here to help him with his site.

-I had slept for 2 hours until the alarm I had sat to remind me to turn my washing machine on at the perfect hour (for the lowest priced electricity hour per watt), went off, brutally waking me up from my slumber.

-I started my washing machine and of course there were some clothing I forgot to put in it.

-I read a few pages from my book.

-I had the last of my large sandwich for lunch at 1 pm.

-My washing machine was finished so I took out my laundry and hung it to dry on a rack in my second bedroom.

-I was in need of a popsickle.

I will reward myself with another popsickle after I have completed this post, then I plan to have my afternoon tea at 4 pm with some nut bars and grapes with my herbal tea, then I plan on playing some games, watching Andromeda and read more from my book. I also plan to have fish balls for dinner at 8 pm, then it will be goodnight, sleeping for 7 hours and repeat! ✨

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jojomondag profile image
Josef Nobach

Gj impressive. i wish i had 10 hours to code : )

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Thank you! 😊