DEV Community

Cover image for What are Your Best Tips for Building a Coding Portfolio?
Anita Olsen*°•.☆
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Posted on

What are Your Best Tips for Building a Coding Portfolio?

I am building my web page and my portfolio from scratch. Did you make yours from scratch as well or do you use a free portfolio template?

I am looking for inspiration and tips on how to make a great coding portfolio. I sort of have a real small one coded with basic HTML displaying two of my Python games (from some CodeCombat game development courses I have completed) on my web page: olsenanita.com, but I want to make it better.

Do you have a portfolio? How did you make yours?

Top comments (21)

Collapse
 
subaash_b profile image
Subaash • Edited

Having a personal portfolio makes you stand out of the crowd and making it visually appealing makes you stand ahead of otther competitors. Your portfolio is clean and you can still find inspirations and make it even better.

Let me tell you my portfolio story.
I started learning frontend devlopment a year ago and I was having a hard time learning flexboxes and grids. Later, I got used to those by collaborating with other frontend devs and getting used to the way they code.
I did a couple of projects completely utilising html, css and javascript. Those projects were of good usage and I use those web apps offen. Then, I thought of having a portfolio website to showcase those projects organised at a single place. So, I came to know that the designers create their own portfolios to showcase their designs. Why not a developer do the same?
I started getting inspirations from internet and made an initial wireframe of my portfolio website with Figma. It was quite decent but not upto the mark. So, I kept on adding more and more deaign components and interactive elements to my portfolio website. It was purely a work of trial and error. It took me only a month to develop my portfolio website and it was a great hit.

If you are wondering what am I speaking about, please have a look at what I made: subaash.vercel.app/

Collapse
 
deejuh719 profile image
K Surratt

I hope you don't mind me using yours as inspiration!

Collapse
 
subaash_b profile image
Subaash

Not at all. I'm glad that someone found my work inspirational. Feel free to draw as much information as you can. But, do share your work once you are done.

Collapse
 
craftingbugs profile image
Craftingbugs • Edited

Should have used, Lenis Scroll. It would have make it much better

Collapse
 
subaash_b profile image
Subaash

Never heard of that thing. Is that a library or something? Btw, I had the motive of building my portfolio with 0% usage of external animation libraries.

Thread Thread
 
craftingbugs profile image
Craftingbugs

Lenis helps to add Smooth Scroll to the website, Website like yours where you have added scroll trigger animation, requires the Lenis Smooth scroll other wise they wont look good from the UX perspective. (Have you seen Awwwards website they have smooth scroll achieved with Lenis scroll)

Collapse
 
prakirth profile image
Prakirth Govardhanam

Cheers & Goodluck!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Thank you so much!

Collapse
 
craftingbugs profile image
Craftingbugs

LinkTree ? Seriously! 😂

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

I have no idea.

Thread Thread
 
craftingbugs profile image
Craftingbugs • Edited

Good. No need to learn about it. As a developer, using Linktree to share you BIO is worst thing a developer can do

Thread Thread
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Ooh, thank you for letting me know!

Collapse
 
prakirth profile image
Prakirth Govardhanam • Edited

What is the point of being mean Mr. Abhishek @craftingbugs ? Do you have a constructive suggestion or feedback?

Collapse
 
robindn profile image
Robin De Neef

My code portfolio went through many stages over the last few years.

When I first entered the industry 6 years ago my portfolio was more of a showcase to prove that I was able to code. It had links showcasing some websites I built as a freelancer for various events and small NGOs like youth movements.

Next to that, I had a couple of learning projects with links to my GitHub repo to show potential employers I knew how to write code.

Later on, my portfolio pivoted more to showcasing knowledge in the form of posting blog posts. I archived a lot of the projects and the code because they didn't represent my best work anymore.

Now I'm pivoting again because I've recently started as a freelancer and I get a feeling that clients care less about my code or even my knowledge and are more interested in case studies and how you can apply your skills to get them results.

As for your portfolio, I really like it! It's definitely a good start. I've conducted quite a few interviews already and being able to see your work deployed like your games is a step up from having your code just on Github, most people won't bother downloading and running it. That being said, a link to some code would be a nice addition.

Collapse
 
linkbenjamin profile image
Ben Link • Edited

I think you're off to a great start.

My target role (DevRel) is a little more content-heavy than code-heavy - I do some of both though. I've settled on my blog here as the link I give people when they ask for a portfolio.

You can see blog posts, tutorials, and links to builds, and github links for code sample projects - and I also have been dabbling with youtube versions of the coding posts that I do. Kinda just covers what people want to see when you're looking for a role in DevRel.

I think the "best answer" is to come up with your own personal style - how do you want to market yourself and your abilities? And then just do that as hard as you can. I always appreciate someone who's just being their authentic self the most!

Collapse
 
deejuh719 profile image
K Surratt

I'm still in the business of making a portfolio while building skills and trying to flex by making a big project to wow someone, but my best advice is to make it your own. Look at all the examples provided by others and go with what speaks to you.

Your way (and I can be wrong) looks along the lines of gaming/video games, so you may wanna take a 16-bit game route. Or even make it look like it's on a tv screen. I have a couple that I call my "fake ones" because I have yet to decide what I want to do, but I think I have an idea based on a project I'm making. So it's going to constantly change until you find what speaks to you.

Hope that helps.

Collapse
 
jangelodev profile image
João Angelo

Hi Anita Olsen,
Top, very nice !
Thanks for sharing

Collapse
 
dev_kiran profile image
Kiran Naragund

Hi Anita
You can take inspiration from my open-source project for building your portfolio

GitHub logo Kiran1689 / Awesome-Dev-Portfolios

This repository aims to collect portfolios and their repositories from developers around the world.

Awesome Dev Portfolios

Made With React built with love badge built by developers badge open source badge
check it out badge Vercel Deploy License Maintenance Website Price

Have you built or do you want to build an awesome developer portfolio? You are in the right place This repository aims to collect portfolios and their repositories from developers around the world.

How this will Help?🤷‍♂️

This repo helps developers who wants to build portfolio by taking inspiration from already deployed Portfolios For those who already built, Showcase your Awesome Portfolio to the world.

Live Deployment🤩

Preview


Checkout the live deployment of Awesome Dev Portfolios at awesome-dev-portfolios.vercel.app. Feel free to browse through the showcased portfolios for inspiration.

How to contribute or Add your Portfolio?😎

All contributions are welcome. Every contribution counts.

1. Adding Your Portfolio:💻

For Adding your Portfolio please follow the guidelines in the CONTRIBUTING file.

2. Bug Reports:🐛

If you face any issues or bugs while using this project, please feel free to create a new Issue in the Issues section.

3. Feature Requests:💡

If you have…

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments. Some comments have been hidden by the post's author - find out more