DEV Community

Anja
Anja

Posted on

Project management tips

Hi! I'm currently writing my bachelor thesis and I'm confronted with a lot of unforeseen problems and requirement changes which could be less stressful with good project management. What are your tips to become better at project management and maybe you know good resources? Also how do you organize your thoughts when you have 50 different thoughts on the project 'at the same time'? Happy Friday. 😊

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
jschleigher profile image
James Schleigher

My tip is to invest in a todo list app.
I use Quire to keep track of my future steps and keep tack of the deadlines. Features such as kanban board and Gantt chart are really helpful.

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio

Hi Anja,
One of my fav's is a mix between Flow-charting and Gant-charting.
I draw up (either on paper or computer) simple text-boxes into steps for the overall chart. Then I work backwards and assign times to the major steps. If I need to break down the major steps into smaller ones, I will drill down, "lather, rinse, repeat."

This is not rocket science or news to many people, but I use Newsprint!

Inexpensive 'Newsprint' can be found in art supply stores.
I work on the large paper then tape them to the wall(s). I use the 1m x 60cm pads for 10-15 Euros.
;))

Collapse
 
anja profile image
Anja

Hi Matt, thank you for sharing! 😊 🙌 will Google about the gant chart. Happy weekend ⭐️

Collapse
 
brandinchiu profile image
Brandin Chiu

Project management is hard.

There's a reason good teams spend so much money on this aspect of their business, and why good project managers can command such a premium price for their skills.

The easiest tip is to take a course. There are dozens available online, such as from Coursera (coursera.org/courses?query=project...) or other similar resources.

In my experience/opinion, visual representation of the problem is key. Having a good top-down view of the entire scope makes it easier to review the entire project in one go, which can help with maintaining perspective.

Once you have the full scope in view, the next step is break up the components into actual work units. Whenever possible, these units should be as small as reasonably possible.

A task such as "set up frontend" is very difficult to scope and track. Instead, break this task up into:

  • purchase domain
  • configure web host
  • add landing page
  • etc

The above is much easier to track, as each individual component is smaller, and has a clear deliverable.

The Agile development methodology works in this way. It allows you to then work in "Sprints", which your team (or just you!) can use to measure your output, and relate it back to your top-down view.

Gantt Charts and Scrum Boards are also both super helpful in tracking the completion of your work.

At the end of the day, your goals are:

  • be able to see the project in one place;
  • break the work into smaller units; and
  • compile and track the completion of the work units.
Collapse
 
anja profile image
Anja

Thank you for these helpful tips, Brandon! Yes I’m using a scrum board couldn’t live without it 😄