DEV Community

ankit-brijwasi
ankit-brijwasi

Posted on

Mastering Web Navigation: How to Save Time and Effort with Text-Fragments

Recently, I was reading an article, and it was very long! The annoying part was that, everytime I came back, I had to go through the contents again and again, until I found an intresting trick to solve this on the web.😁

Follow along with me, If you are also facing the same issue

Quick Solution

A hack to solve this problem, that I found is by using the, text-fragments feature that most of the modern web browsers now a days support

Syntax-

https://example.com/some-blog#:~:text=<TEXT YOU WANT TO SAVE>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

If there are spaces, then denote them using %20

Demo

visit this page

When it opens, you'll see that the browser automatically, highlights and scrolls to the position where the text, Below is a gif is present

PS: While most websites support this feature, it's essential to bear in mind that a few might not be optimized yet.

Happy Browsing! 😇

Top comments (0)