DEV Community

Cover image for Forward a port: Multi-device viewing
Anna Villarreal
Anna Villarreal

Posted on

Forward a port: Multi-device viewing

Hey guys - I was starting a project and viewing in local host like normal. Suddenly I discovered port forwarding magic as a tangent in a video. I love these random finds. Of course I have to share.

To put simply, head over to your ports tab in VSCode, it is most likely right by the terminal.

  • Click ports
    ports screenshot

  • Click add port button...

  • Enter the number of your chosen port

ooo alien

  • Click the globe icon

globe icon

  • Verify things when prompted.

verification

  • You will most likely have to verify things on your phone as well. You now have a dev tunnel! You can enter that exact address in your phone browser and view the page live! You can share your port with anyone that is on your network. MOM!!!! XD

Now, we can view on many devices in real time. Fabulous.

On Phone:
phone screen

On Computer:
computer screen

I hope someone is as excited as me when I found out how to do this. XD

Top comments (0)