DEV Community

Adrián Norte
Adrián Norte

Posted on

Some apps I use as a DevOps

I'm usually on osX so most tools are for that environment.

Utility apps

AlfredApp

This adds a spotlight like feature with plugins and commands, I particularly enjoy "screen saver"(to start it and lock the screen) and "empty trash"

BitBar

This adds elements to the status bar with the output of the scripts you put on its plugin folder. The project has lots of scripts that you can download but I prefer to use my own, like the one to see how much RAM I have consumed and another that shows how many dockers do I have running at the moment.

Enpass

It's a nice password manager that stores the vaults on your computer (with the option to sync using your own accounts on cloud providers) and runs on any major platform.

Shuttle

A configurable ssh shortcuts that I mainly use to list and access my ~/.ssh/config.

Bartender

For when you have way too many icons on the status bar.

Gifox

A nice tool to record the screen and make a gif with it, really useful to explain workflows in Jira.

Terminal stuff

iTerm

The emulator that everyone should use.

oh-my-zsh

Of course, you should use zsh with this to have plugins and themes.

zsh-autosuggestions

This is hands down my favorite plugin for zsh. It uses your history to suggest autocompletion.

zsh-syntax-highlighting

If the command you are writing is not in $PATH it shows in red otherwise in green.

Shellcheck

A linter for shell scripts.

VSCode extensions

Bracket Pair Colorizer

It uses different colors for different sets of brackets, it is extremely useful when you have gone a little wild with the if.

Indent Rainbow

It uses colors to show each column of indentation making very easy to fix indentation errors(looking at you YAML...).

Code Coverage

Tool to highlight lines not covered by unit tests.

CodeMetrics

Computes complexity in TypeScript / JavaScript files.

Docker

Adds syntax highlighting, commands, hover tips, and linting for Dockerfile and docker-compose files.

Git Project Manager

It allows you to change easily between git projects.

Peacock

Subtly change the workspace color of your workspace. Ideal when you have multiple VS Code instances and you want to quickly identify which is which. This is probably one of my most used extensions. shootout to

john_papa image

Rest Client

A little and simple rest client inside VSCode.

Settings Sync

Synchronize Settings, Snippets, Themes, File Icons, Launch, Keybindings, Workspaces, and Extensions Across Multiple Machines Using GitHub Gist.

Trailing Spaces

Highlight trailing spaces.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
avantsekai profile image
Shavant Thomas

Nice list. I definitely use a fair amount of these; however I think I am about to introduce myself to shuttle and maybe a couple more on your list.

Collapse
 
piyukore06 profile image
Priyanka Kore

Gifox is a good tool but I use GIPHY for creating gifs.. I couldn’t get rid of their watermark..

Collapse
 
anortef profile image
Adrián Norte

It's a setting