DEV Community

Cover image for Recycling comes to WhatsApp ♻️
Ansh Saini
Ansh Saini

Posted on • Updated on

Recycling comes to WhatsApp ♻️

This is a submission for Twilio Challenge v24.06.12

What I Built 🛠️

A WhatsApp bot which gives you recycling ideas at your fingertips.
WhatsApp is such a popular and convenient platform, that almost everyone has it. Just message the bot and tell it what you want to recycle.
It works with text as well as images 🖼️✨

Motivation

Often times while cleaning my house, I come across stuff I don't need anymore. Wouldn't it be nice to just snap a picture with the most used app on my phone and get instructions on how to recycle it? Well, think no more...

Demo📱

Watch the full working demo on GitHub
Working demo

Currently the app is running in a sandbox environment.
Text join want-correctly to +14155238886 OR scan the QR code below.
QR code to try out the demo

Link to code

GitHub logo ansh-saini / recycle-whatsapp-bot

This is my submission for the DEV Twilio Challenge

WhatsApp Recycle Bot ♻️

A WhatsApp bot which gives you recycling ideas at your fingertips. WhatsApp is such a popular and convenient platform, that almost everyone has it. Just message the bot and tell it what you want to recycle. It works with text as well as images 🖼️✨

Just tell it what you want to recycle

nailcutter-example

Even works with images!

flask-example




Twilio and AI ✨

I used the Twilio Messaging API to setup communication through WhatsApp. I've used Google Cloud Vision API to detect what object the sender has captured. Then I've engineered a prompt and fed that to Open AI's GPT 3.5 Turbo to get instructions on recycling the object.

Additional Prize Categories 🏆

Impactful Innovators

Some thoughts 🩵

  • Working with Twilio has been quite easy. Things are pretty straight forward. I absolutely loved the fact that I didn't have to provide any billing information to get started.
  • I was surprised by the simplicity of the steps needed to started with creating a WhatsApp Bot. Great job Twilio! Definitely going to continue using Twilio for building some cool stuff.
  • Thank you DEV Team for organising awesome contests like these :)

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Wow! what an amazing project!

Collapse
 
anshsaini profile image
Ansh Saini

Thank you :)