DEV Community

Cover image for Rate my Portfolio website
Anuj Bansal
Anuj Bansal

Posted on

Rate my Portfolio website

Hey Guys,

  • Recently I built my portfolio website.
    Please have a look and rate it. Also any new suggestions and improvements are heartfully welcomed :D.
    Portfolio

  • Also there is a cool way to create the portfolio on the github profile itself. Checkout that too in the link below -:
    Github

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
jennrmillerdev profile image
Jen Miller • Edited

Hey, that's a nice site.

Is the beard animation you? If it's part of your 'online brand image' keep it. If it's some generic gif I would consider replacing it with something. It's quite large and makes me focus on it. This is ok if it's part of your online image, but not so great if it's not part of you(or your brand).

I do like the gif, it's kind of cute, but again, it takes away some of the user focus.

Consider switching your technical skills and employment sections. Your technical skills are generally what most recruiters and developers evaluating candidates (like myself) tend to focus on and not education. ** This depends on your location though. I know some recruiters in some regions/cultures prefer looking at education.

You list a lot of social media sites on the top. I think ordering them in importance of what you want to show off. No recruiter or developer will click on every link. Probably just the first one or two max.

Your freelancing work is part of your work experience (and at 30+ projects, that's pretty significant). I would try to add it there. I actually missed this part where you talk about freelance since it blends in with your other achievements.

You seem to be a new grad, so it's still somewhat ok that you still list your university achievements, but you should quickly replace those with professional working achievements soon. At some point, you'll want to remove your university GPA too. What I'm trying to say is, at some point, you want the focus to be on your professional experience and not university. You don't want to clutter up a profile page with too much stuff recruiters and reviewers don't need to see.

that's my 2 cents. Nice site overall though.

Collapse
 
anujbansal16 profile image
Anuj Bansal

Thanks for all those findings and points, appreciated and noted :D

Collapse
 
ajinspiro profile image
Arun Kumar • Edited

Some stuff I'd change if I were you..

  1. Remove duplicate word 'hackerrank' and unnecessary spaces. Include all names of each platform instead of putting 'etc.' in the end.

  2. In mobile view, the buttons 'Portfolio' and 'GET CV' are getting placed far left... Give a bit of left margin or center them, perhaps lowercase 'GET'

  3. Rename the title 'Resume' to 'Achievements' and remove the current subtitle that says 'achievements'.

  4. Change 'My portfolio' to 'My projects' or something.

  5. Replace 'stuffs' with some other word in below sentence.
    'So far I helped 15+ international clients in their software development stuffs and issues.'

  6. Bug : Clicking on 'See on GitHub' button of your File explorer project is taking me to your torrent client repo...

Collapse
 
anujbansal16 profile image
Anuj Bansal

Thank you so much for all those finding and suggestions for the improvement. :)

Collapse
 
nasratt profile image
Nasratullah Talash

Nice, man you are genius with all those achievements šŸ’Æ

Collapse
 
cdthomp1 profile image
Cameron Thompson

I think it looks very nice! I love the avatar you see at the beginning. Where/how did you make one?

Collapse
 
anujbansal16 profile image
Anuj Bansal

Thank you so much
I found it somewhere i guess :D

Collapse
 
darshkul24 profile image
Darsh

7 out of 10

Collapse
 
kidzero17 profile image
KidZer0

hey, look,
1.decide if its resume or CV

  1. you can put "hire me" instead of "Contact me"
Collapse
 
anujbansal16 profile image
Anuj Bansal

Noted. Thanks :D

Collapse
 
rahxuls profile image
Rahul

This is amazing. Can you remove the credit of colorlib from the footer. and host via Netlify so you can get access for SSL and domain. It's easy.

Collapse
 
anujbansal16 profile image
Anuj Bansal

Ohk, will explore about that. Thanks :)

Collapse
 
uvinduharshana profile image
Uvindu Harshana

I think for a portfolio the site is too much.

Collapse
 
meswapnilwagh profile image
Swapnil Abhimanyu Wagh

Superb, did you created that beard man? :)

Collapse
 
anujbansal16 profile image
Anuj Bansal

Nope XD found Gif somewhere