DEV Community

Cover image for Note to self: job search and referrals
Anzhari Purnomo
Anzhari Purnomo

Posted on

Note to self: job search and referrals

Try to check your existing and 2nd connections on LinkedIn for referrals first before applying for jobs.

Credit:

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
attkinsonjakob profile image
Jakob Attkinson

Care to explain what exactly do you mean?

Collapse
 
anzhari profile image
Anzhari Purnomo

Sorry that the note is confusing, I was in a hurry to jot it down I didn’t bother to write it properly. :))

What I meant is to try to get referrals before applying for jobs to an e.g. job portals.

Background story: I was applying for several jobs to several companies recently, and made appointments with the recruiters. I kind of curious on how the work life on the companies like, and reached out to some engineers working on the company through my LinkedIn connections.

After chatting with some of my connections, I just realized that their companies have some sort of referral program for their employees, and they do get referral bonus if the candidate passes the assessment if I apply through them, not through the job portal or the recruiter.

Collapse
 
attkinsonjakob profile image
Jakob Attkinson

Most companies out there have an internal program where if an employee refers someone that gets hired they are compensated (usually 1000E give or take)

The reason behind this is that usually those making referrals are responsible for the new people getting hired.

Thread Thread
 
anzhari profile image
Anzhari Purnomo

Yep, that was a brain-fart moment for me. :))