DEV Community

Cover image for Kind comments😉
Aoppman
Aoppman

Posted on

Kind comments😉

While I am still new to coding, as a Software Development student at Flatiron School, I am learning tips and tricks that best suit my learning experience.

Although, I was hesitant at first, I am now a firm believer in commenting inside my code. I have realized it is crucial for my note taking style of self learning. Each person learns differently and incorporates their own strategies for success in soaking up the necessary knowledge.

At the start of my learning, instructors introduced comments as a means for communication between coders, to leave directions/instructions for the code and what it does. This relays easy explanation to new eyes on a project, and was questionable and confusing to me at first.

As I was still unaware visually, of what I was interpreting, comments confused me further.
While my coding practice is evolving and I'm continuously beating this new found knowledge into my head, over and over until it finally soaks up, commenting has become a staple.

Even though VS Code has become the main entity for my coding projects, it has also become my personal notebook for my course notes. The ability to comment notes in my own terminology as well as write out code examples in all its colorful glory is dynamic. This helps immensely, when having my personal learning material match the visual aesthetic that I encounter anytime I write code for coursework. It tickles my brain so good, as I'm a very "visual-to-hands on learner. (i.e. Monkey see and do 🐵)

Coding notes

Coding notes

I am able to further breakdown difficult equations and explain them to myself, in my own words and understanding in a line of comment - in real time as I am problem solving.

I highly recommend getting comfortable with incorporating comments into your code along the way!

Top comments (0)