DEV Community

aosilvester
aosilvester

Posted on

myFirstPost.js

This is the first time I have had anything resembling a blog since I was a younger teenager. The internet has changed juuuust a bit since then.

A few years ago I felt like I was floating by in life and decided to change careers. I signed up for one of those coding boot camps. I had previous experience doing some extremely basic website design with css standards that were outdated by the mid 2000's. I had no experience in actual programming languages. It was an exercise in banging my head against the wall and hoping for information to come out, but in the end I made a functioning full stack website. Somehow.

After the bootcamp I found myself with tons of free time. I used all of it on applying to jobs. All of it. There was a lot of conversations that ended with me and the recruiter coming to the conclusion that I wasn't the right choice, and some take home coding challenges that were way above my level. Eventually I got an actual coding job. It was in a different coding language, and that made me uneasy, but it turned out to not be a problem at all. I have learned a lot on the job. Now I am ready to learn more, and I have identified a few areas that I want to focus on, but that will be for my next post.

If you made it this far, thanks for hearing my story. :)

Top comments (0)